Joy Division Releases ‘Unknown Pleasures’ NFT Featuring Exclusive Ian Curtis Recordings

Joy Division Releases 'Unknown Pleasures' NFT Featuring Exclusive Ian Curtis Recordings

Joy Division’s drummer, Stephen Morris, has joined forces with Peter Saville from Factory Records to create an NFT that pays tribute to the band’s iconic album, “Unknown Pleasures.”

Scheduled for release next month via Pace Verso, the project known as CP1919 will serve as a digital archive collection, blending the iconic album art with previously unheard tracks. At its core, the project features an animated reinterpretation of the renowned album cover, showcasing two distinct artworks: CP1919: Sweeping Sun White 2023 and CP1919: Sweeping Sun Black 2023. Each artwork presents the artistic vision in unique monochromatic hues, offering a fresh yet nostalgic experience for enthusiasts.

Newly Introduced Ian Curtis Vocals

The White edition, made available openly, displays unreleased vocal snippets and sounds made by Joy Division, adding a touch of novelty to the revered collection. On the contrary, the Black edition, a distinct piece, complements the visual artistry with an ambient soundtrack that is enriched with some previously unheard vocal fragments from the band.

Interestingly, the singular edition is physically manifested in a hard drive that is hosted in a specially designed case.

Furthermore, the partnership promises to resonate with fans by including newly discovered vocal takes from the late Ian Curtis, a move executed by Morris, providing a deeper insight into the celebrated album.

Based on A statement by Rolling Stone, Bill Holding from Morph U.K. changed the image into a 3D version for the NFT. Morris created music for the project, gaining inspiration from the radio signals of CP1919 and integrating it with altered sounds from the band’s archival material.

Some of the revenue that is generated from the NFT sales is set to be donated to CALM (Campaign Against Living Miserably), a UK-based institution dedicated to helping prevent suicides.

A Review Of Joy Division’s Musical Journey

Established in 1976 in Salford, Joy Division emerged as pivotal figures in the post-punk and gothic rock movements. The band established their signature style through introspective lyrics and minimalist instrumentation, which became synonymous with their name.

Featuring Ian Curtis as the vocalist and lyricist, Bernard Sumner on guitar and keyboards, Peter Hook as the bassist, and Stephen Morris on drums, the band’s collective synergy made a significant impact on the music industry.

In their short but highly impactful journey, Joy Division released two studio albums – “Unknown Pleasures” in 1979 and “Closer” in 1980. Unfortunately, the band encountered an unexpected end due to Curtis’s suicide in May 1980.

The members who remained went on a new path after the incident, creating the band New Order. After several years, the influence of Joy Division’s music has been evident, with major bands like U2, The Cure, and Radiohead citing them as a massive influence in their musical journey.

As the new project unfolds, it aims to revitalize the legacy of Joy Division and introduce a generation to the fusion of digital artistry and music. Therefore, the CP1919 collection comes into the limelight in October 2023. It is a testimony to Joy Division’s continuing legacy in the modern digital era.

Most Viewed Review

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *